← Return to News

Gold Duke of Edinburgh Awards Received in Royal Style

Over the summer, a number of Dollar pupils (now Former Pupils) were amongst those who received their Duke of Edinburgh Awards from the hands of the Duke of Edinburgh himself for what is probably the last time.

On Thursday 6 July, a presentation reception honoured 350 Gold Award holders at the Palace of Holyroodhouse in Edinburgh.  Cameron Turner, Eilidh McArthur, Sophie Baird, Scott Norval, Elleni Yapanis, Alice Hudson, Jessica Peach, Andrew Johnston and Christina Callion (pictured below) were among others there to celebrate that day. Other Dollar pupils also received their Gold Awards which recognise the incredible dedication, effort and achievement individuals must put in to reach the highest level of this remarkable scheme.DoE Gold Award Presentation at Holyrood 2017

The Gold Award, like the other Awards, requires a tremendous commitment in each of the four areas: Volunteering, Skills, Physical Recreation and Expeditions.  It is a very popular activity at Dollar. In a typical year, around 130 pupils in Form III take part at Bronze level, about 70 pupils in Form IV work toward their Silver and roughly 40 candidates in Form V will work toward their Gold level. 

Mr Johns (Duke of Edinburgh Coordinator and Physics teacher) said of the presentation day, ‘We got lucky with the weather; the rain dried up and we even had a bit of sunshine at one point. The Queen did stifle conversations at one point with her helicopter taking off just next to us prior to the presentations beginning, but it was a marvellous day! We are so delighted that so many of our pupils not only undertake the DofE Award, but see it through to its ultimate conclusion.’

Prince Philip, who plans to retire from public duties in the autumn, chatted to some of the 2017 Award winners at the palace garden reception. Since he founded the Duke of Edinburgh's Awards in 1956, six million people have taken part and 2.7 million awards have been handed out as it became the world's leading youth achievement award.